Life’s a Fillet of Fish

10 Feb

Yes, it is.

It’s been one of those days.  You know the type, where every time you turn around there’s spilled milk, pencil writing on the wall, toddlers plummeting off desks, odd literary cakes to bake, leaky dirty diapers, second graders who can’t remember long vowels, knitting stitches that don’t add up, 467 small stones spilled on the floor of the unheated sunroom, and the clock reads just 10:32.

And to top it all off I’m bookless.  There is a giant void in my life where a book should be.   It’s very uncomfortable.  So this Friday you’ll have to settle for a movie/soundtrack/DVD post.  Can we all agree to dumb ourselves down for the day and let that happen?  Whew.  I’m glad.

Yes Thomas, it’s time to start the music.

Several weeks ago we checked out some old Muppet Shows from the library to occupy the hour or so of screen time that makes it possible for me to prep supper, fold laundry, talk to my sister, and visit the restroom in peace.  Go ahead, call the Good Mommy Police,  because at about 5:00 p.m., solitary confinement sounds cozy to me.

Kermit and his gang were an instant hit.  And since my tolerance for Imaginex and Planet Heroes DVD’s sometimes wains, this was a huge score.  I don’t mind having  Harry Belafonte, Julie Andrews, Paul Simon, and even Fozzie the Bear accompany my evening ritual chant of “Serenity Now!”

We kept riding that Muppet bandwagon and purchased Simeon the soundtrack from the new Muppet Movie for his birthday.  Also an instant hit. It’s been blaring out of the stereo singers (Thomas only calls them speakers if he’s playing on audiobook) during every free moment of the day, and some moments at night.  You see, the boys and I are still in negotiations about when night ends and morning begins.

My dear nephews first introduced us to the soundtrack over Christmas break, but at the time, I was blinded by a bright flashback to fourth grade.  Because on this fabulous CD is “We Built This City” by Starship – song so popular in 1985 that Stacy and I knew it.  And what that means, is that this song was really, really popular.

Our little school, all seven of us, made up a recess dance routine to perform while we belted what I now know were the incorrect lyrics across the barren corn fields.  We leapt out of swings, jumped over teeter-totters, circled the propane tank.  The song was awesome, the choreography was awesome, we were awesome.  You’ll be hard-pressed to find someone to contradict me – those cows are long gone.

I haven’t taught the kids the routine yet.  Hmmm . . . maybe that’s a solution to my day.  We seem to already have our own soundtrack, maybe all we really needs now is a dance number.

___________________________________________________________________________________

8 Responses to “Life’s a Fillet of Fish”

  1. Kerry February 10, 2012 at 4:37 pm #

    You could potentially be the next Von Trapp family. I could say I knew you when…

    • Christina February 11, 2012 at 7:57 pm #

      I’m pretty sure the Von Trapps were on the run from the authorities. You’re right, that could be us.

  2. Amy February 10, 2012 at 6:43 pm #

    I love the Muppets soundtrack! It’s played regularly in our room…

    • Christina February 11, 2012 at 7:58 pm #

      We approve. Although we’d approve more if you came and listened to it at our house.

  3. Stacy February 10, 2012 at 8:56 pm #

    How did you know that was the ONE line from the soundtrack that is repeated repeatedly daily. In repeat. Life’s a fillet of fish. …………………….
    Yes it is. ( maniacal laugh, maniacal laugh, maniacal laugh)

    • Christine February 11, 2012 at 4:20 pm #

      I had to come back and reread this post after enjoying my “Me Party” day. Like The Muppets soundtrack, I enjoyed the post just as much the second time around.

    • Christina February 11, 2012 at 7:58 pm #

      How could it not be?

      • Christina February 11, 2012 at 7:59 pm #

        I was going to ask you how your Me Party went, but then I remembered that what happens at a Me Party, stays at a Me Party.

Leave a comment