To Verb, or not to Verb

9 Feb

Things I (We) Love:  Verbs

Wait, wouldn’t it be more appropriate if it read . . .

Things I (We) Love To Do:  Verb

It bothers me that verb is a noun.  It can even be made into an adjective, but it can’t, at least not in Merriam-Websterland, be a verb.  Verb can’t verb.  It’s all wrong.

But don’t worry, I still believe in verbing.  In fact, you might have noticed, I verb a lot while writing.  You know of what I speak, right?  It’s like this:

I love Michigan because although it lightnings and thunders, it doesn’t often tornado.

(It’s true.  As a child I had plans to move to tornado-free Alaska, but the Mitten State has done a good job of showing its fury in terms of blizzards, not cyclones.  I don’t mind living in gray-scale several months of the year if it means I don’t have to endure the dizzying trip to Oz.)

Okay, here’s another example of verbing:

Ugh, I just decontacted myself.

(No, really, I did.  I rubbed my itchy eyes, and just like that, both flimsy little lenses fell – one to my lap, and the other to the floor.)

Alright, one more example:

Look at this!  My daughter’s hair pigtailed!

(Betcha thought that was just a sentence fragment.   Nope, both subject and predicate are accounted for.  Plus, I can’t resist an opportunity to post a gratuitous picture of Cecilia’s hair.)

In summary, my friends, it’s okay to verb.

Well, unless you’d rather grammar.

___________________________________________________________________________________________

3 Responses to “To Verb, or not to Verb”

  1. Rachel February 9, 2012 at 11:11 pm #

    I ❤ the pigtails!

  2. Amy February 9, 2012 at 11:26 pm #

    So cute!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I bet Dr. Quinn knew all these words. « A Classic Case of Madness - February 15, 2012

    […] known to post a few gratuitous pictures of the excrescence of my daughter’s tresses on my other blog, I’ll spare you here. Share this:FacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

Leave a Reply

