Oh, I know, all I owe, I owe Prednisone

3 Jul

You know when you get a song stuck in your head and you can’t get it out? Of course you do. What a mundane topic, right? Well, have you ever had it happen with a word? Of course you have. What am I thinking? It happened to me last night. Urg.

And what was the Vocabulary Ear Worm parasitically trapped in my mind during my Prednisone-induced non-sleep (I have a rash)?

Appropriate, given the impending incediarily celebrated birthday of our Nation, don’t you think?

As I was laying there riding my imaginary 10-speed across the Grand Canyon and running my Olympic Sprint Marathon I got to thinking about other such words that have layed claim to my sanity. I remember very distinctly an invasion of the word “secretary” when I was a wee 9 or 10 year old. I will briefly explain what I did at that time to cope with said invasion.

I went out to our swing set with our 20-odd cats and sang songs to them using the sole lyric “secretary”. Let me give you an example:

(To the tune of “The Sound of Music” from, well, The Sound of Music) Secre-tary! Secretary secra-. Tary secreta-ry, secreta-a-RY! (And so on.)

Here’s another:

(To the tune of “All I Owe Ioway” from State Fair) Secreta-ry-y. Sec-re-eh-ta-a-ry. Secretary secretary secreTA! (And so on.)

At this point I have to wonder what predictions my parents were making of my future. Probably that at some point in my life I would be laying in bed hand-cultivating corn fields while I repeated the word “incendiary”. They were spot on.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________

3 Responses to “Oh, I know, all I owe, I owe Prednisone”

  1. Christina Joy July 3, 2012 at 5:01 pm #

    This memory is so vivid. So, so vivid.

    Also, this once happened to me with your name. Stacy, stacy, stacy, sta-CY. Stacyyyyyy. STAcy. Over and over until it no longer sounded like a word.

    • Jan July 3, 2012 at 6:46 pm #

      After having just read Rachel’s blog and facebook post I now have “Ode to Stacy” going through my head. Aaargh.

  2. Grandma Barbie July 3, 2012 at 8:28 pm #

    Sounds like an explosive topic to sleep to…..

Leave a Reply

