Floored

7 Jun

My sister got my hopes up yesterday.  Did she do the same to yours?

I really thought she was going to tell me some magical hint for keeping my floors clean.  It’s a continually battle around here, and I can use all the strategic advice I can get.

Last night we had a few friends over to talk about a book (it’s just something we do, you’re welcome to join us) and before they arrived I glanced at the floor and thought, “Hey, it’s not too shabby, I probably don’t even need to sweep, but shoot, I’ve got another 17 minutes before they get here, and the babies are already safely caged away in their cribs for the night, why not?”

So I hauled out the broom, refereed a fight between the oldest three about who got to hold the dust pan – it’s a major honor, let me tell you – and swept together a pile of crumbs, and wrappers, and seeds, and sticks, and gunk, and dirt, and stuff that would practically be enough to start a small garden plot.

That was the result of what I thought was “not too shabby.”

In repentance of my poor floor care, today I have a renewed interest in keeping the areas underfoot free of grime.  And so, in light of that, and in response to my sister’s disappointingly unHeloisish post, I give you this household hint:

If you let the spaghetti rest for at least two hours before attempting to clean the area around the table, dried pasta pops right up with no hassle.

I decline to comment about the Froot Loop(s).

10 Responses to “Floored”

  1. Liz @ TheLambentLife June 7, 2012 at 10:18 pm #

    Ha! Yes! I just stumbled across this post and had to agree. Yes, rice is the same way. Quinoa is the worst. I always leave it until morning to sweep 🙂

    • Christina Joy June 7, 2012 at 10:29 pm #

      Absolutely! Quinoa and couscous are the Moonsand of the food world.

  2. itsallthelittlemoments June 7, 2012 at 11:16 pm #

    I really enjoyed this post! It is a constant stuggle to keep our floors clean at our house too. Thank goodness for wood floors.

    • Christina Joy June 9, 2012 at 1:49 pm #

      Oh, wood is good. Sadly, our’s are carpet, and we put a run down to protect the carpet, but that sort of backfired because now all of the rest of the floor is dingy dirty gross, but underneath the table carpet it’s sparkling white. Oops.

      • itsallthelittlemoments June 9, 2012 at 10:50 pm #

        I remembered when our floor was carpeted. It was obvious where the furniture was and where the kids were. Then we hit the flooring jackpot and discovered hard wood floors underneath.

  3. Katie June 8, 2012 at 11:24 am #

    My favorite floor-cleaning tip: invest in a dog or two. You’ll never have to worry about food lying around again. 😉

    Dog hair, on the other hand….

    • Christina Joy June 9, 2012 at 1:50 pm #

      Yes, everyone keeps suggesting the dog thing. I think what we really need is to find one to borrow for about 30 minutes, three times a day. That seems ideal. We’d even feed them as part of the bargain.

  4. Christine June 8, 2012 at 12:49 pm #

    I may or may not have stomped on cheerios to make them easier to vacuum.

    • Christine June 8, 2012 at 4:07 pm #

      To clarify, this may or may not have happened at my own home.

      • Christina Joy June 9, 2012 at 1:50 pm #

        You are always welcome to do it at mine. And thank you for solving the Froot Loop dilemma.

Leave a Reply

