Priceless Gifts

12 May

Where I’ve failed as a mother, I’ve succeeded in hiring quality child care.  Proof:

My offspring didn’t come up with this lovely project on their own, but they did compose the verse.  I was able to discern that as soon as I read the words “keep calm.”

We love you, Miss Ashley, and not just because you vetoed the first version of the card, which apparently said,

To Mom, let us play three hours of lego.com.

In other parental appreciation project news, Simeon declared today “Helpful Day.”

In case you haven’t heard of that one, it’s the day when you pretend like you want to scrub the deck so you have a good excuse to play in water.

And then you yell, “Helpful!  Helpful!”and hope that saying it (loudly) makes it true.

Also, you demonstrate that true helpfulness can be as simple as avoiding a fall that leads to an Emergency Room visit.

This Mother’s Day, that might be the gift I appreciate most, Pete.

4 Responses to “Priceless Gifts”

  1. agnusdei1996 May 12, 2012 at 6:59 pm #

    Oh! Yes, I am well acquainted with Helpful Day. I think the swimsuits are usually my first clue that they aren’t really serious about washing wastebaskets for me. . .

    • Christina Joy May 12, 2012 at 8:13 pm #

      Next time I will have to remember to suggest swimsuits for Helpful Day. It will certainly cut down on Laundry Day.

  2. kaethe May 17, 2012 at 4:45 pm #

    Oh, Christina…I can tell that you are new to this mom-of-girls thing. No, “swimsuit day” does NOT cut down on Laundry Day. In order to put on swimsuits, girls usually discard the fancy dresses they started wearing in the morning. Because swimsuits are so exciting, fancy dresses , tights, and dress shoes are tossed in haste on the floor. Then the swimsuit try-on session begins. Many suits are involved, some end up also on the floor. Eventually, everyone gets clold and wet and leaves thei rwet suits ALL OVER THE PLACE and end up wearing zip-up pajamas. I wish I was making this up. (Dress up costumes are often involved as well). I am off to do laundry.

    • agnusdei1996 May 17, 2012 at 6:06 pm #

      That might be a difference between girlS, and one girl with lots of brothers. . .changing clothes by yourself isn’t that much fun, and if you don’t hurry, you’ll probably miss out on all the excitement! Or at the least, find out the boys have moved on from water (fun!) to mud (gross!). Obviously your mileage may vary. 🙂

Leave a Reply

