Look What I Uncovered

10 Mar

My plan today was to grab and album, scan a picture, type a few quirky descriptions, and call it a blog.  That was before my random pick turned out to be this photo:

Okay, I can’t help myself, here are a few quirky descriptions:  My shirt?  Velour.  My sister?  Cute.  Me?  Not so much, but a little tanner than I knew my body was capable of being.

This picture was taken on a family vacation to Denver where we stumbled upon this rhinoceros fossil that was found in, yes, squint to read it folks, none other than Ainsworth, Nebraska.

I vaguely remember being told by my parents that it was discovered very near our house, in fact I know the exact spot just north of home from which I imagined it’s excavation took place.  And yet, this was something that I don’t remember ever being talked about in school, or in town history.

After a few, very brief google searches, I have determined that this was discovered by resident and paleontologist Morris Skinner.  The name is completely familiar, but I might just be confusing it with Skinner’s Motor Court – the only thing in Ainsworth I can think of that bare’s the name.

So what’s the story?  If you know, tell me.  In the mean time I plan to put on my straw fedora and do a little digging of my own.  This could be the new Baby Goo-Goo mystery of the year.

______________________________________________________________________________________________________

4 Responses to “Look What I Uncovered”

  1. Adriana @ Classical Quest March 10, 2012 at 1:12 pm #

    How fascinating!

  2. Mom March 10, 2012 at 5:31 pm #

    I’ve done a bit of research about Brown County Fossils (other than your Dad and I) 😉

    http://www-museum.unl.edu/research/vertpaleo/necounties/BrownFos2.html

    • Christina Joy March 10, 2012 at 7:59 pm #

      So, what I want to know is why we never, ever, save the family trip to Denver, heard about these finds in school if they truly did “change . . . the scientific legacy of Brown County!”

      Oh, and did you know the Skinners? AND, was the place where they found the fossils just north of the house?

      • Mom March 10, 2012 at 8:24 pm #

        In my childhood memory (for what it’s worth) the place was somewhere along plum creek, so yes, north of us but I’m not sure where, definitely within 10 miles or so. My other childhood memory was that one of the wooly mammoths in Morrill Hall was found here too, but that site definitely did NOT verify that! We did take you to Morrill Hall when you were little(r). I never actually met Morris – I met his brother and sister-in-law. (She’s where four of us junior girls went for our informal Girl State interview-guess I impressed her-ha!)

Leave a Reply

