AN-I-MAL!

15 Feb

Last weekend I made my 20th birthday cake for our children.  And as I have it figured, there are only about 70 more to be baked by request.

Oh goodness, I wish I hadn’t taken the time to figure that out.  It’s a little depressing.  I practically have enough to start my own Cake Wrecks Ripoff blog.  Believe me, there have been some doozies.

Just the thought of more sugar highs and glazed-over eyes makes me a little out of control.  Kind of like this guy:

____________________________________________________________________________________________

12 Responses to “AN-I-MAL!”

  1. thelifeofapinterestreject February 15, 2012 at 4:46 pm #

    Wow. That is amazing…

  2. Stacy February 17, 2012 at 1:49 pm #

    Out of what did you make the nose?

    • Christina February 17, 2012 at 1:51 pm #

      I’m so glad you asked. I’m thinking of putting together an Animal Tutorial. You might have to wait.

  3. Mom February 17, 2012 at 10:56 pm #

    I seriously think you should be able to quit after 15 each. That way you would only have to do 55 more……………….

    • Christina February 18, 2012 at 9:40 am #

      And 55 sounds completely reasonable.

  4. jackie March 27, 2013 at 10:30 pm #

    i would love a tutorial on how you made this cake…this is one of the best looking animal cakes i’ve seen online !

    • Christina Joy March 27, 2013 at 10:50 pm #

      Thank you. I don’t know if I’ll be able to get around to posting a tutorial anytime soon, but I can tell you that I used a base of orangish frosting. The hair was made from those red licorice sticks that peel apart. The eyebrows were regular black licorice that I fringed a little with kitchen sheers. The eyes were oreo halves. The black of the eyeballs and mouth was made using a tube of black gel frosting, The tongue was a red fruit roll-up, and the nose was also fruit roll-up wrapped around a large marshmallow. The teeth were made from cut up pieces of large marshmallow. I hope that helps!

      • jackie March 27, 2013 at 10:52 pm #

        that helps a TON !!! Thank you 🙂

  5. Caroline July 9, 2013 at 1:00 pm #

    that is amazing… would a soft pink or peach frosting work?

    • Christina Joy August 8, 2013 at 6:45 pm #

      Thanks! I would think so. I made the frosting pretty haphazardly – a few drops of red, a few of yellow.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Have My Cake, and Eat It Anyway « …and we laughed and laughed. - March 1, 2012

    […] as I mentioned the other day I’ve made enough buttercream disasters to warrant my own amateur category over […]

Leave a Reply

