2 Winners.

6 Jan

Hey there. It’s been awhile. I’d like to ensure you that my brain hasn’t been entirely on sabbatical. How am I to do this? Well, I don’t have tangible proof. There’s been no observable gray matter growth. Alas, my hair hasn’t even gotten any bigger. I do, however, have a book (or 3…) on which I can report. Also, at the end of this post I will be announcing our First Ever Giveaway Winner! Tune in, all ye who entered (and even those who didn’t), so we can crown the FEGW in our wildly scientific and professional way.

On to my book report.

The Hunger Games Trilogy. Suzanne Collins. Read them. It is my belief that this series can be universally enjoyed. Seriously. No matter your taste in literature – these are for you. I’m not even kidding.

How have I settled upon this bold opinion? Well, there’s this: my beloved and I both adore them and we have very different literature leanings. Example? He’s Neverwhere. I’m Guernsey Literature and Potato Peel Pie Society. He’s Lord of the Rings. I’m No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency. He’s Dune. I’m Pride and Prejudice. Get it? So the mere fact that we both are doting on this trilogy is huge. It’s happened before, sure, but you must be prepared that when we light upon corresponding keenness for a book I will recommend said book to THE WORLD. Yes, the world.

Also, there’s this: Collins has taken a familiar dark plot (think Jackson’s “The Lottery”) and spun it in a way accessible and relatable to many levels of readers. She combines angst, action, citizenship, social standing, death, murder, singing, politics, starvation, tragedy, fashion, likable characters, despicable characters, in-between characters, and high drama in a never-stop-reading stew.

Oh, and there’s love, too. A triangle. A unique, tragic, heart-tugging love triangle.

There. Universal appeal.

Now, THE MOMENT YOU HAVE BEEN WAITING FOR!

In a completely random, names-on-slips-of-paper and drawn from a generic coffee can method, we have determined our FEGW to be…….

That says "Carissa".

Congratulations. We’ll be in touch and you, Carissa, will shortly be receiving The Very First Christmas by Paul Maier.

3 Responses to “2 Winners.”

  1. Grandma Barbie January 6, 2012 at 10:13 pm #

    I, too, love the series and anxiously await the first movie coming this spring. Will it live up to the written word? It remains to be seen.

  2. yammiesnoshery January 6, 2012 at 10:14 pm #

    I love the Hunger Games! Can’t wait for the movieeee. :]

  3. carissa January 6, 2012 at 10:46 pm #

    YES! I”M SO EXCITED!!

Leave a Reply

