Sugar and Spice

17 Dec

I’m all about stretching themes these days.  So, I’ll just be really honest and admit that today’s Grab Bag Special picture is not even close to a random pull from an old photo album.  Nope, I knew exactly what digital file I was hunting for to grab this photo.  Here it is straight from the Twin’s First Month Archives:

That is just over 5 lbs. of baby girl in her very first dress.  I remember that moment like it was yesterday.  That is a horrible simile – yesterday is pretty foggy, but you know what I’m getting at.  The emotions connected to that article of clothing are quick to surface when I see the picture.

I didn’t even realize it was a dress before that morning.  The little preemie sized outfit was so tiny that the “skirt” looked like an unsuspecting ruffle.  I was new to this whole line of apparel, and so until the final three snaps gave audible closure it hadn’t hit me that my daughter was wearing a dress.

Big moment.

Fast forward fifteen months, and although our boys have finally learned to use female pronouns, and I don’t stumble every time I try to say “sister” I was once again struck with that same “Officially Female” kind of feeling.  Check this out:

A bow.  A curl.  A girl.

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________

 

One Response to “Sugar and Spice”

  1. Rachel December 18, 2011 at 9:39 am #

    Sooooooooooooooo cute!

Leave a Reply

