Doo Doo YOU remember?

12 Dec

I’m presently confused. About presents. Presents of the past, in fact. Not of the present. See, amidst my children’s greed-riddled list making mania of this particular season I have been racking my mind grapes about what gift I absolutely HAD to have as a youngling. Which toy was it that without which I couldn’t live another day? I’ll be honest, this was a hard one. I must have been a super awesome, grateful, selfless child. (We don’t have fact checkers in the production of this blog.) Anyway, I figured it out. Baby Goo Goo. I’m sorry, you’re confused now, too, right? It sounds as though I wanted the infant version of a certain pop star, yes? Well, you’re wrong. I wanted a Baby Goo Goo. You know, the baby doll in which you could shove your hand and make to wiggle like everyone’s favorite newborn? Yes, that. Our local dime store had them. And them I did covet EVERY time I went to said store to buy embroidery floss with my Gramma. So on the list they went. In fact, I’m fairly certain that owning a Baby Goo Goo was my ONLY Christmas desire.

This isn't it. Boo Hoo, baby.

NOW is when it gets confusing. I went to find an image of  a “Baby Goo Goo” with which to dress up this post. I Goo-Googled it and I FOUND NOTHING. Well, that’s not true. I found something called the “Goo Goo Kids Hand Puppet”. My first thought was that I was mis-remembering. That can happen. But then I looked at this “hand puppet” thing and while it was certainly similar to my childhood yen, it was not the same. Hm. Weird. At this point, I thought MAYBE we (yes, both Christina and I were gifted this the greatest of our yearnings) had fallen for a generic. That, too, can happen. In fact, in our world, generic is king. (You’re welcome, Generic.) And I’m thinking this is the most probable scenario. However, I put in a call to my sister to see if I could wiggle her memory stick. She Goo-Googled, too (it’s just too goo-good on the wordplay front to stop). She stumbled upon something that looked MORE like our Baby Goo Goos but was called “Little Sprout Baby”. What? That doesn’t sound anything like goo goo. Don’t you think a generic of that one would be called the “Tiny Bud Buddy”? Upon further research (specifically THIS VIDEO) I have decided that the Little Sprout was never in our puppet-baby loving hands, either (because we didn’t get a bassinet and birth certificate!). So now I’m at an impasse. What is this “Baby Goo Goo”? How can there be NO record of its existence on the internet?? EVERYTHING is on the internet!!!! Everything except generics, I guess.

9 Responses to “Doo Doo YOU remember?”

  1. Christina December 12, 2011 at 6:02 pm #

    That commercial was very disturbing. Also, I’m adding the tag “Baby Goo Goo” so other young children of the 80’s will not suffer in internet despair over this subject.

  2. Ann December 12, 2011 at 9:40 pm #

    You’re not alone in your memories:
    http://www.inthe80s.com/toys/googoodollsithink0.shtml

  3. Jamie December 12, 2011 at 10:49 pm #

    Stace, I checked too… and it clearly said 1984 on the date stamp on Goo Goo baby puppet. I think this is it – and you know that I can dream up all sorts of things that don’t exist (but should). 🙂

  4. Kate April 5, 2012 at 6:17 am #

    I stumbled upon this as I googled ‘Baby Goo Goo’ into Google tonight..

    That picture looks similar to but not quite the same as the baby/puppet I had.. strangely I thought mine was a handmade toy except for the embroidered brand on the blanket she came with. I don’t remember ever opening my Baby Goo Goo doll as a present, so I must have been very young when i got her, but she was a favourite for years.
    And I’m Australian, born in 1988.. I have to call my Mum to ask more questions now, but I’m glad to see I’m not the only person on the internet wondering about these dolls.. ( I was actually looking them up to see if I could find a way to make one for my niece)

    • Stacy April 5, 2012 at 8:56 am #

      It’s bizarre, isn’t it? When I was home over Christmas we dug up our old dolls. They had a tiny manufacturer’s tag (with a name I can’t remember at this instant) and we were able to google that and find a bit of information. A bit. Meaning, a picture. There was, however, no “Baby Goo Goo” title attached. Hmmm… I’m glad we have more people in our club!

  5. koneko June 21, 2012 at 2:09 am #

    my grandmother made puppets similar to these. they were all the rage in the early to mid 80s in the crafting circuit (at least in northern Alberta). i’ve been trying to find a pattern or someone who makes puppets like these. i didn’t even know about the official goo goo kids till i googled today. heh.

    • lolly June 26, 2012 at 3:55 pm #

      Have just found these post while trying to find a Baby Goo Goo to get as a joke present for my sister’s 30th. She had one and loved it even though we all made fun of it! It was tragically taken to the rubbish tip by mistake and part of her will never get over it!

      • Stacy June 26, 2012 at 4:05 pm #

        Alas! That IS sad. We have a pink one and a yellow one, but are completely unwilling to part with them as we understand your sister’s angst in having lost hers. They own a strange pull on their owners….

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Look What I Uncovered « …and we laughed and laughed. - March 10, 2012

    […] time I plan to put on my straw fedora and do a little digging of my own.  This could be the new Baby Goo-Goo mystery of the year. Share this:FacebookEmailPrintTwitterLike this:LikeBe the first to like this […]

Leave a Reply

