Taking a Haiku in the Snow

6 Dec

In case you haven’t noticed, I have a very clever sister. Recently that smarty pants put her cleverness to the test and entered a wee writing competition in hopes of bringing home a trophy  treadmill. Yep, you read correctly. A treadmill. Clever AND fit. That’s my sis. I don’t want to get too deeply into it as the wounds are still bright red, but she didn’t win. She wasn’t even a runner-up. Here’s the deal: SHE WAS ROBBED!!!! That treadmill was ripped from her waiting feet.

So, in hopes of bolstering her creative ego I have hosted my own little writing competition. I challenged my friends (the word-ly adroit ones) to make December weather, well, less December weather-ish, by couching their thoughts on said subject in a witty haiku. The results thrilled and charmed me. Read.

when it’s not bitter

the weather is dismal grey

does the sun hate us?

*******************

Ice coats the windows

the snow drifts deep, so I won’t

get the mail today

*******************

winter has come today

tell the fashionistas that

gray is the new black

*******************

My house looks naked

but I like to stay inside

maybe lights next year!

*******************

You know its christmas,

When your neighbor blows circuits,

lighting up his yard

********************

Chilly chilly air

Blowing right through my sweater

Oh you naughty thing

*********************

Winter snow and ice

seem to bring dismay to all

folks over sixty.

*********************

Summer’s opposite

December weather is cold

Cold like my small feet.

********************

December abounds

with birthdays around

Jesus, Dana, Zach (Someone OBVIOUSLY has an ulterior motive here….)

Great, huh? Haiku hilarity. I was super-pleased with my friends, so I wrote this:

Wordsmiths are my friends

Making snow and ice clever

A blizzard of pride!

That was their prize. Oh, wait. Officially I am naming Christina the winner (nepotism and bias aside). This is her certificate:

SO, that’s it. Oh, no, wait. It’s not. I forgot to mention how our dad weighed in on this important competition. You’ve already been briefed about him, right? Well, here was his contribution:

Limericks are shrewd

There was a lady from Ott

Haiku doesn’t rhyme

This was our mom’s retort:

Try something for Dad

iambic pentameter

or maybe lim’rick.

One Response to “Taking a Haiku in the Snow”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. For You and Your Kin « …and we laughed and laughed. - December 23, 2011

    […] right, it’s time for our first ever Giveaway!  Okay, so we’ve given away virtual certificates, used turtlenecks, and bragging rights before, but this is for real.  An actual object, to a […]

Leave a Reply

