Now You See It, Now You See It Again

29 Oct

I’m not going to lie – I was pretty excited to reach into the good ol’ grab bag this week and find the photo album filled with pictures from the months around my first birthday.  It’s nice not to be humiliated every once in a while.  And I’ve never seen a picture of a yearling child that wasn’t dominated by cuteness.

I’m not even going to spend a lot of time pointing out the weird fuzzy stuffed animal that I can completely feel in my memory, but can’t picture well enough to remember what animal it actually was.  And I’m not going to talk about the crazy gold striped chair that I’m sitting in, because in 1976 I think every family had one of those.  I won’t even dwell on the adorable jumper that I just bet my Mom made.  And that wall paper?  I’ve never seen it before.

This is what struck me about this photo:  Cecilia.

Do you see it?  Here, compare it to this one of our dear daughter that I’ve doctored with a little retro-photo action on Picnik.

Okay, so she’s got a little bit more of The Nose going on, but I bet my parents would testify to my nosing it up back then.  And I had a few curls sprouting behind my ears, but so does she, you just can’t see them in this picture.  We’re obviously not the generous and conscientious parents my folks were.  We’ve simply given our only girl a stick to play with.  Her dress?  Hand-me-down, not handmade.  But that’s nearly the same.

Despite all these differences I still see the resemblance, and I don’t think it’s just the Picnik photo re-vamping that’s doing it.

3 Responses to “Now You See It, Now You See It Again”

  1. Mom October 29, 2011 at 6:01 pm #

    1. Yes. I see it. And you’re both cute.
    2. Blue stuffed dog. Mine from child(teen)hood. Hair could be brushed and styled.
    3. Wallpaper. When we lived in Claire’s house-moved before you would remember.
    4. Gold rocker. Enough said.
    5. Yes. I made your outfit…even hand stitched on the heart, matching the poofy, ruffled cap sleeves.
    6. I want to know what the picture was before you “picniked” it.

  2. Marcia October 29, 2011 at 9:28 pm #

    You are both cute! Now you need to do a set with Jerry and Peter. I think the results would be very much the same.

    • Christina October 29, 2011 at 9:38 pm #

      I think you’re absolutely right.

Leave a Reply

