Full Disclosure (AND a DISCUSSION QUESTION! Don’t miss it!)

25 Oct

So here’s the deal, folks. I let my sister down last week. She hasn’t said a thing, but I know it’s true. See, she’s the brains behind this operation. I’m the brawn (?). We have a schedule of sorts. You need not know the details, but suffice it to say that I don’t meet deadlines well. I just can’t handle the pressure. Never could. And now we have this blog. And my inadequacies are OUT THERE. Oh, my. I could say that I dropped the blogball because I was in a pit of Halloween Costume prep, but, that’s another deadline, so, of course, it I’m presently struggling to meet. (The pressure is high, but my children are scarier than my sister, so it’ll get done.) So, consider this my public apology. To Christina. To You. To My Computer. To My Brain (because, believe it or not, writing this dribble gives it more of a workout than doing laundry, making baby food, or sweeping combined). There. Are we all happy now? Deadlines. Weakness. Me.

So that was a really boring paragraph. Not much give and take. I like give and take. Here. I’ll GIVE you one of my current beliefs and then I’ll TAKE your opinions about said belief. That will make this post more interesting, don’t you think? Please don’t let me down on this. It’s very important. Here it is:

I fully believe in the placebo effect of decaffeinated coffee.

Discuss.

4 Responses to “Full Disclosure (AND a DISCUSSION QUESTION! Don’t miss it!)”

  1. Mom October 26, 2011 at 10:56 am #

    I feel really badly that no one has entered your discussion. I intend to offer my sage wisdom on this matter as I am a fully qualified non-coffee-drinker. I believe for a majority of people the need for that sumptuous (their word, not mine) coffee taste and smell is great enough to overcome the decaffienated-ness of the decaf dribble but for the minority who can’t handle the no-lead stuff they would prefer to pour it down the drain. There. That’s all I have to say about that.

    On the subject of decaf tea (which I drink most p.m.’s), I just need some flavor to make me happy and if I drink too much of the the high-powered stuff in the morning my body revolts and I get the shakes.

  2. Christine October 26, 2011 at 11:41 am #

    I am also a non-coffee-drinker. Coffee-flavored ice cream? Yes. I know it’s weird and I cannot explain it. So as a placebo, I cannot say. Coffee ice cream perks me up, but I think that’s a fat and sugar effect, not caffeine.

    • Christina October 27, 2011 at 10:24 am #

      Unlike our mother, I think you could be a coffee convert. The difference? The ice cream. This is where you start. Pioneer Woman’s iced coffee with sweetened condensed milk. It’s only a few degrees different from coffee ice cream. From there you can slowly wean yourself warmer and blacker. If you want. If not, there is nothing wrong with a nice, cold, sweet, creamy, cup of joe.

  3. Christina October 27, 2011 at 10:21 am #

    I can speak from experience. I need coffee. And most of the time I have no idea how much caffeine my beloved is serving us, but I do know if I forget to drink it.

    Then again Floyd always says that there is actually caffeine in decaf, so maybe this is a trick questions.

Leave a Reply

