I’m conditioned to read pretty books.

14 Oct

Let me introduce to you a book that I chose to read based solely on its cover. See, in my husband’s office sat a box of discarded high school literature (a gold mine!). I had recently finished my book. (The Star Garden by Nancy Turner. Christina or I will write to you of her whole Sara Agnes Prine series someday. They’re divine.) So, I needed something to read. The bold, uncomplicated cover caught my eye. It was elegant in its simplicity (much like Penn State’s football uniforms), so that’s where it started.

I’m not going to pretend that I hadn’t heard of Brave New World before. I had. Well, at least I’d heard allusions to it and I was excited to be “in on it”. Boy, having absolutely NO inkling of this classic’s story line was a bit unsettling. I should have been prepared. It kind of whapped me on my head with social satire. Heavy stuff for a Thursday afternoon. I guess I don’t know what I expected. A story about a planet of warrior mimes perhaps? Anyway, if you’ve read it, you can imagine my, well, surprise, I guess. I won’t review it for you or even give you a summary. (Google it, please.) That’s not to say that I don’t have opinions about the story. I’ve got loads of ’em. Oodles. That Huxley was some thinker, he was. But, as I am not one to incite controversy on the pages of this blog, I won’t get into it. I really wish I was part of a book club that automatically followed my literary whims, finished all reading on my schedule, and was willing to hang out in my toy and laundry-riddled living room while I served water and generic gold fish crackers. In that setting I would get all SORTS of controversial on your mugs.

Let’s get back to it, shall we? Okay, so the book refers to the conditioning of humans on a rather large, startling, and well-thought-out scale. So, I’ve really been honed in to conditioning ever since. Exciting, huh? I know. I’ve been thinking about all the ways that AJ and are conditioning our wee tribe. What beliefs and activities will they see as “natural”? I’ll give you the list:

  1. Pop A capella is important. Really important. This art form must be studied, enjoyed, used, studied some more, and shared with the general public. One must listen to every tune on the air waves for its relevance and possible use in the Pop A capella genre.
  2. Hip Hop dancing is amazing. Watching hip hop on YouTube is essential. The LXD is a household name for everyone.

And that’s about it.

Now that you’ve learned absolutely nothing about Aldous Huxley’s Brave New World (and a tish too much about our household) you should go out and read it. Then you should put on some sweatpants, come over and we’ll talk. (But not about the book. I’m totally over the book. Let’s talk about The Sing Off.)

4 Responses to “I’m conditioned to read pretty books.”

  1. SandySays1 October 14, 2011 at 11:34 am #

    Hmmmmmm, My human says there should be a genre for fiction called “bullus-shittus” for all the “deep political thinkers” on both ends of the spectrum in which they could categorize their work. This would allow those readers WHO DON’T wish to ingest the normally slanted fodder contained within these propaganda pieces the indigestion that follows. BUT, I liked your well-written post!
    Sandy

    • Stacy October 14, 2011 at 5:53 pm #

      Pretty astute for a dog. (Oh wait, your HUMAN is the astute one. Sorry.)

  2. Christina October 14, 2011 at 11:41 am #

    In addition to being totally geeked out by your Model Book Club I am not at all embarrassed to admit that all these years I thought his name was Alex Huxley AND I’m pretty sure in my head that he and Alex Haley and L. Ron Hubbard were the same person.

    • Stacy October 14, 2011 at 5:56 pm #

      Boy. I’ve never even heard of those other guys……

Leave a Reply

