That’s, Mrs. Bossypants, thank you very much.

7 Oct

In the past week or two I have been heard making the following foolish quotes,

Tina Fey and I have had, like, totally the same lives.

and,

Tina Fey and I are kindred spirits.

and,

Tina Fey and I are practically the same person.

and,

Actually, I’m Christina.  It’s okay, people get us confused all the time.

and, most foolishly,

You should definitely read Tina Fey’s book, “Bossypants.”

It’s when this final sentence escapes my lips that I realize I have doomed myself.  Now, practically on the advice of Tina Fey herself, these people are going to go out, read the book, and come to one of the following conclusions:

  1. I am completely delusional and not at all like Tina Fey, or
  2. I am completely delusional and exactly like Tina Fey.

Either way, it’s a no win.

So, before you read the book, and you should, please review this quick list of similarities and differences between Ms. Fey and myself:

Similarities 
We both bought our children Imaginext pirate ships and sea monsters.

Differences
Politics
Morality
Working Mothers
Breastfeeding
Manicures
Use of Potty Words
The Afforadbility of Red Lobster

I sure hope she wasn’t making up that part about buying her daughter a pirate ship.

Unlike its cover or reader, this book is completely adorable.

5 Responses to “That’s, Mrs. Bossypants, thank you very much.”

  1. Stacy October 7, 2011 at 1:46 pm #

    That’s a funny tie-dyed shirt you have on. I don’t think Tina would wear that…..

    • Christina October 7, 2011 at 1:59 pm #

      Whatever. You don’t know Tina like I know Tina. She said she’s not afraid to look stupid for the sake of comedy.

  2. abby walton October 8, 2011 at 3:46 pm #

    I just finished this book a couple of days ago! (I cheated I listened to it on my ipod) I was walking down the streets in Chicago cracking up to myself. Great book, and probably a little more funny listening to Tina narate it!

    • Christina October 8, 2011 at 9:11 pm #

      I read it the old fashioned way, by hearing her voice in my head. Not creepy, right?

  3. kaethe January 5, 2012 at 9:54 am #

    I checked out this book thinking it would be good, light, reading while nursing. And everyone in the world seems to think it is hysterical. I found it mildly funny in some parts but really offensive in most others. But then I thought, “Wait! Christina Roberts thought the same thing! I’m not the only one!”. What a relief. Back to Runner’s World.

Leave a Reply

