Tongue in Cheek. Spoon in Slop.

25 Sep

Our sweet Henry is now 6 months old! (Yikes. He can practically drive.) And so, to celebrate, we have bestowed upon him the gift of flavorless gruel.

MMmmmmm

For some inexplicable reason this particular milestone is eagerly anticipated by most parents (myself included). It isn’t until that first spoonful of gritty slop is spattering my furrowed brow that I want to flee. Flee like I’ve never fled before. I loathe this game (you know, the one called “feeding your child”). Why did we open this can of worms (or box of baby cereal, as it were)? Seriously. Bibs to launder, messes to wipe, a new chunk of my life devoted to making “num-num” faces? I would like to skip this stage. I want to go from spending hours in a glider with my wee sweet nursling straight into handing the dear a slice and saying “Dig in, Baby”. I need to invent some sort of gastronomical/small motor skill acceleration devise that leaves my playful 6-month-old a playful 6-month-old, but allows for full-on solid food intake independence. Yep. I’m THAT selfish. And now it’s out there. Discuss.

Okay, okay. The slop face is pretty adorable. I guess I'll put up with it.

4 Responses to “Tongue in Cheek. Spoon in Slop.”

  1. Mom September 25, 2011 at 10:23 pm #

    Yes. The sloppy face is adorable. And in six months we can make it out of chocolate pudding at our house!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Christina September 26, 2011 at 10:15 am #

    You have spoken the heart of every mother. And if she denies it then she is a liar. And if she denies that she is lying then she is a double liar. She should stop before I get to triple.

    Also, doesn’t Hank kind of look like one our breed only with a dark comb-over? If so, do not be alarmed with the box of Nice ‘n Easy #87 in my shopping cart. I have no intention of kidnapping him and passing him off as my own. At least not until he’s self-feeding solids.

    • Mom September 26, 2011 at 10:40 am #

      Yes. Though the dark hair/brown eye combo versus the blonde hair/blue eye combo does exist, I do believe the cousins all have some same birdsong qualities.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I Don’t Know What You’re Talking About « …and we laughed and laughed. - September 28, 2011

    […] Block, and because we have not revealed enough of our olfactory oddness and possible parenting laziness, today I offer up another of our favorite forms of […]

Leave a Reply

