Middlings

17 Sep

While I could hardly say that our oldest and youngest children were quiet this week, it was the three in the center that provided that most memorable noise, er, I mean, quotes:

“I think I know why they call it recess, because we don’t get to play, we have to solve problems.”
Thomas, analyzing the new Sibling Squabble Reduction Rule that allows the boys to earn a  sticker for every day they make it through morning recess time without coming in to report a fight or unfairness.

“Races are only for cars, not for people.”
Abraham, struggling to catch up with the Brothers in the middle of mile 11 of the Children’s Marathon.  Mile 10 was brought to us by a very pitiful, “I don’t like The Mile. ”

“Oh no.  I can’t see at all in the dark!”
Abraham, prior to his first optometrist appointment when I explained to him that the doctor was going to check his eyes to make sure he could see okay.

“Can we go sledding?”
Thomas, recess on the first 55-degree day of the school year.

“Wesha bleda floply blooo da.”
Abraham, who attains language skills by watching the Twins.
“Abe, you should stop speaking Spanish.   I’m probably the only one who understands it.” 
Thomas, who attains language skills by watching Imaginext in Frenchuguese.

“No”
“I know”
“Oh no”
“No, no.”
“N-O.”
Cecilia, who attains language skills by watching her mother.  Although Thomas is the one who taught her to spell.

3 Responses to “Middlings”

  1. kaethe September 17, 2011 at 4:27 pm #

    Jonathan actually quoted Thomas the other day. The girls were squabbling and he interruped them (as Thomas skillfully did one car ride) to announce “Well, ANYWAY, I just got some new mittens from Nathan Mueller!. Try it–it works surprisingly well to stop fights.

    But that’s not my favorite Thomas quote. One day he told me my lotion smelled like fruit snacks. Isn’t that a sweet compliment?

    Oh, wait! The first time I was ever at your house, I asked him if the pictures on your fridge were his cousins. He said “No. Those are just pictures”.

    Ishould really go blog about my own kids…

    • Mom September 17, 2011 at 9:59 pm #

      Those were three “Thomas statements” I had never heard, yet could hear him say every one. Thanks!

  2. Christine September 17, 2011 at 5:19 pm #

    I am now stealing your “sibling squabble reduction rule”. Since I am stealing it, I suppose that I shall have to forfeit my own sticker for the day.

Leave a Reply

