Why couldn’t I have gotten Skinny Genes instead?

22 Aug

We grew up with a chronic list maker.  For those of you who know our parents it’s quite evident that I am talking about our mom and not our dad.  I don’t think Dad has ever made or followed a list in his life.  Not intentionally, at least.

But Mom has lists for everything.  Everything.  And I can’t say that I blame her.  They are handy dandy little tools.  I don’t know how much they really help me accomplish, but they are fun, fun, fun to make.

And even though making lists is a very common, nearly trendy blog thing to do I want to be super clear that any list made on this blog is borne out of genetics – as if anyone would ever classify my actions as trendy.

1.  The boys have been begging to start school.  Simeon even picked a date – August 20.  Homeschooling is cool and flexible and all that, but I flatly refuse to start school on a Saturday.  No way.  No how.  And my plan all along has been to start on Aug. 30 when Jerry goes back to school.  But in order to take advantage of some of that pro-school momentum I caved and said we could start today.  I figured it would be kind of a soft start with the Grand Opening as scheduled next Tuesday.  Plus, it would give us a good chance to see how my proposed daily plan for the year was going to work.

2.  I quit school today.

3.  For the last five days Peter has been feverish, and/or rashy, and/or puking, and/or crying, and/or diarrheaing, and/or crabby.  Strike that last possible or.  It’s just an and.  He was diagnosed with a double ear infection and a probable mystery virus this afternoon.

4.  We’re trying to come up with some sort of system for the blog so you will know not only to expect a post on certain days, but also it’s general category.   Other than lots more of my sister, is there anything you would like to read more about?

5.  My OfficeMax gift card has not yet come.  I’m getting nervous.  Surely they didn’t just promise me the refund and then hang up the phone and say, “Ha!  We fooled you!”  No, they wouldn’t do that.  Right?  I am a total Nervous Nelly.

6.  I so, so, so want to enter in the MyGR6 competition, but can’t come up with anything clever and true and wonderful.  I do love this city, though.  Wait!  No.

7.  I’ve always wanted to do Baby Signs with my kids, but have never had the stick-to-it-iveness to carry through.  Cecilia has made one up on her own, though.  She claps when she wants to eat and when a meal is over.  My daughter.

8.  The boys are training for a marathon.  Okay, fine, it’s a kid’s marathon and they have two months to complete 25 miles, and then finish the final 1.2 miles of the actual Grand Rapids Marathon route on race day.   So far I think each of their miles has gotten subsequently slower.  My sons.

9.  The same genes that inspire list writing also create an internal need for the lists to have an odd numbers of items.  Well, that might be all my own special mutation.  My poor children.

5 Responses to “Why couldn’t I have gotten Skinny Genes instead?”

  1. kaethe August 23, 2011 at 4:07 pm #

    I just clicked on the GR6 website to see what it was all about. The first quote I saw was from Molly Mulaney (sp?). You know, from The Bachelor. Her quote was “A city you never leave behind.”. Ironic, since my family did (rather unwillingly) leave GR behind last year and technically Jonathan did before that, after his undergrad at GVSU. But I get her sentiment.

    You should probably just have another kid, so your six words could all be your children’s names.

    Otherwise, please work in something about the EGR library. Even though it’s not really in GR. I miss that place like crazy.

  2. Christine August 26, 2011 at 7:30 pm #

    5. So did it come?
    6. I’ve been thinking about this too–without much (any) success.
    7. I think I still have a book. We also loved the Baby Signing Time videos.

    • Christina August 27, 2011 at 9:59 am #

      5. I called about it yesterday, and they said that it had been issued the day before and would be here soon.

      6. Still stuck. If I could only have eight words I think I’d be set.

      7. Maybe I can make the boys watch the videos and teach the babies. Hmmm . . .

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Happy Birth-, I mean FIELDday, Dad! « …and we laughed and laughed. - August 30, 2011

    […] Our mother, who also uses good grammar, is reduced to nothing but a walking, baking, list of a woman. […]

Leave a Reply

