Undocumented

19 Aug

Do you notice something missing?

I know there is a trend out there in the Blogosphere to do Wordless Wednesdays, but this one is more of a Pictureless Post.  The past eleven days of our lives run the risk of being completely forgotten. You see, my camera is shot.  It had taken it’s share of sidewalk close-ups in the past, but this last one pushed it right over the edge.  And thus, it entered it’s Magenta Period.

Alright, I know I implied earlier that there were no pictures to show in this post, but I have to let you get a little glimpse of the post-fall artistic stylings of our little Sony Cybershot.

Nice, eh?  Maybe the camera was just trying to send me some message about how I need to look at the world through rose colored glasses, but I wasn’t buying it.  In fact, all I wanted to buy was a new camera.

We’ve been through several point-and-shoots, and after the first one suffered it’s tragic demise in the purse-of-no-return my smart husband began purchasing the extended warranties on them.  We’re not typically “Warranty Folk” but since the pocket that these pocket-sized cameras often gets thrown into is torn, and I haven’t bothered to repair it in three years, it seems a little 24-month insurance policy might be a good idea.  Not to mention the danger these cameras encounter in stroller bins, van cup-holders, and worst of all – the hands of a five-year-old.

This last camera survived our rough and tumble life for two years.  Two years and eight days to be exact.  Yep, 24 months and EIGHT DAYS!  AGH!  So close, and yet 192 hours too far.  In one last-ditch effort we showed the camera to the nice people at the store when we went in to check out new models and do you know what they said?  “Call the 1-800 number.  I’m sure they’ll honor the warranty.”

I could scarcely believe my ears, and was still positive that the response from the help-line would be negative, but guess what?  They honored it.  Amazing.  They didn’t have to do that.  They were in no way obligated to reimburse us for a warranty that was expired.  But, a gift card in the amount that we paid for the camera is currently being sent our way.  And now, I must tell you the name of this store, for they deserve laud and attention for going above and beyond the call of duty in customer service:  OfficeMax.  Shop there.  We will.

So, do you have any great point-and-shoot recommendations?  Remember, they have to be available through OfficeMax.  I’ve done a bit of research, and have the Consumer Reports chart in hand,  but I can’t seem to make up my mind.  I want fast shutter response, image stabilization and good low-light quality photos.  So, do you have a camera that you love, or even hate for these reasons?

And until my gift card arrives, here’s one last photo to remind you why OfficeMax warranties have a permanent place in our life:

A Self-Portrait

2 Responses to “Undocumented”

  1. Jeannette August 20, 2011 at 9:53 am #

    We have an Olympus Stylus – 7010. It’s great!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Why couldn’t I have gotten Skinny Genes instead? « …and we laughed and laughed. - August 22, 2011

    […]  My OfficeMax gift card has not yet come.  I’m getting nervous.  Surely they didn’t just promise me the […]

Leave a Reply

