Social Networking by the Books

29 Jul

Stacy and I got the most touching e-mail yesterday.  Here, let me read part of it to you:

Did I tell you how I felt taking the book back to the library? I didn’t really want to give it up. I wanted to know more about their lives. I also am afraid that another book won’t be as good a friend as this one. Like giving up a comfortable chair or pair of shoes, I’m afraid a new book won’t be as comfortable.

Isn’t that so sweet?  My sister and I have felt this way hundreds of times about a whole slew of characters, and this new reader captured it so beautifully.

The big shock is that this new reader is our mother.  Bet you didn’t know she wasn’t a reader.  She hides it well.  Somehow she manages to be funny, bright, articulate, and knowledgeable without the aid of fiction.  I can’t imagine what she’ll be like now that we seem to have her reading habit well on its way to addiction.

So you’re probably wondering how a nonreader managed to rear two bibliophiles.  Although I can’t remember ever seeing my Mom curled up with a novel of her own she never hesitated to read to us.  Some of my best childhood memories (and I have a lot) are of evenings sprawled across the bed with Mom and Stacy laughing at Ramona Quimby until our sides ached.

Reading was about closeness and family time, laughing together and making new friends bound by ink, but released by our imaginations and conversations.  Reading was socializing in both the real and virtual worlds.  To this day my sister and I still approach books in this same way.

Here’s where you can help us.  Mom’s new friends are the lovely people of Guernsey Island.  Have you met them?  If not, you should introduce yourself to the main character, Juliet, and the two of you should ferry over and make yourselves at home.  Then you should lend us your expertise.  Mom’s a bit leery about meeting new people, so can you introduce her to some that you’ve loved?  Who are the best friends you’ve made in books?

We look forward to your suggestions and can’t wait to put books on hold – the original “friend request.”

3 Responses to “Social Networking by the Books”

  1. Marcia July 30, 2011 at 12:36 am #

    Oh, I have SO felt like that! Your mom might like the gently quirky inhabitants of Mitford. I loved these books – and the characters. Plus, there are 8 or 9 books in the series, so you don’t have to say goodbye too soon. The author is Jan Karon and I think the first book is “At Home in Mitford.”

    Jan, I’m so glad you liked Guernsey. I wanted to stay there, too.

    Happy reading!

    • Mom July 30, 2011 at 2:06 pm #

      Thanks, Marcia. When you suggested it Christina was sure it was a good choice for me. You were both so right. I’ll have to look into Mitford!

    • Mom July 30, 2011 at 2:13 pm #

      I forgot that I registered as “Mom” on this site! 😉

Leave a Reply

