Freezer-burned by love

14 Jun

Oh, am I an excited blogger today! My life is a brilliant compliment to my sister’s last two posts (the one where she discusses my parents’ anniversary and their lack of need to celebrate and the one where she has surprising and maybe inappropriate things in her trash can).

We are currently defrosting our deep-freezer. We’ve never done it before. Don’t judge us. We’re just not very good at those mundane “upkeepy” things in life. It’s a point that needs improvement to be sure, but I digress. Back to the freezer. We’re finding a lot of neat old stuff in there: neat old round steak, neat old popsicles, neat old casseroles (from when Charlie was born…), you get the gist. The neatest (and OLDEST)???????? Our wedding cake top. Yep. Here it is on our garage floor:

Ah, so beautiful.

We’ve been married 8 1/2 years. Guess we missed the boat on the whole “celebrate your first anniversary by eating the top of your wedding cake” thing. Really, as my sister pointed out before, I wasn’t raised to make a big deal out of such events. Don’t get me wrong – we PRETEND to. One of the reasons we got married on New Year’s Eve was so that we could pretend to have anniversary plans and therefore ignore other traditionally New Year’s Eve-y social events. Anti-social??? Yes. Yes, we are.

So, how did we celebrate such a momentous thing as finding a bit of our wedding cake preserved like Mr. Disney? We considered reenacting the cutting of the cake where traditional couples lovingly shove the confection into one another’s mugs (which, by the way, we so gracefully refused to do at our wedding), but fear of dental damage to the bride prevented that act. So I’ll show you what we did:

This defines romance.

Yes, we laid on our garage floor and sucked face.

Then we chucked the thing.

7 Responses to “Freezer-burned by love”

  1. Christina June 14, 2011 at 5:35 pm #

    Great, now my children will be digging in your trash can to get cake.

  2. Rachel June 14, 2011 at 7:57 pm #
    • Rachel June 14, 2011 at 7:58 pm #

      Ah – my comment didn’t post. I said:

      .

      • Rachel June 14, 2011 at 7:59 pm #

        Grr. EYE ROLL.

  3. Charity June 14, 2011 at 10:38 pm #

    I LOVE IT!

  4. GB June 16, 2011 at 9:20 am #

    Cute story. And, (understanding my anal need to document and record such things in life), I’m glad you took pictures before your chucked it!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Summer Olympics « …and we laughed and laughed. - August 3, 2011

    […] yes. I’m nothing if not sentimental. You all saw that when I tossed my wedding cake in the weekly trash. It’s difficult to zone in on specific memories of summer playtime because my bitsy brain is […]

Leave a Reply

