This is me being silent.

23 May

I can’t talk today. My voice has all but disappeared. And while the rest of the world is rejoicing, I am super annoyed. There are SO many things I need to say. Usually I would say them all to my sister on the phone, but it’s simply not possible today. So I will ramble on to you as I do to her. It may be one sided, but really, that’s nothing new-for narcissism and I are tight. So many things to say……

Yesterday I bought flowers to plant in all of my pots and had my first introduction to Dahlias. Have you all seen these amazing flowers? It’s like they’re not real. In fact, I think that they are exactly what I would create if someone told me to design an original fabric with fake flowers on it (a dream of mine). Here, I’ll quick go take a picture and show you. Surely you all have gone 32 years without Dahlia exposure, too?

Okay, the picture doesn't do them justice, but you get it, right?

Something exciting happened when I went out to take the picture. I ran right into the screen door. No one was there to see it. Already no one could hear my exclamation. It’s like I don’t exist!

Okay, so often on Mondays Christina and I run down our weekend activities. I’ll let you in on some highlights:

We had family pictures taken by Carissa Martin. She’s awesome. Go to Lincoln and have her shoot you (in the photographic sense, of course). She has officially hired me as a human backdrop. Really. I could not be more excited about this career opportunity. Also, as a setting for our photo shoot we got to hear the worst cover band ever created. Live. Amazing. Oh, and the boys had fun. Fun? Getting your picture taken????? Unheard of. See? What other photographer would give you such unconventional moments?!?  (That was my official shout out.)

Have you noticed that I am rockin’ the colloquialisms today? Yeah, dawg. (I’m so sorry. I will stop.)

Also on Saturday we saw Grandma Great. She’s great. She had her hip replaced on Wednesday and hosted a party for the family on Saturday. She’s that kind of great. The great kind. Look, here she is:

Great, huh? Except the kickin' shades hide her beautifully smile-creased eyes. They're there and they're great.

Okay, let’s see. Where were we? Oh, Sunday. My favorite day. We go to this wonderful church with wonderful people and a wonderful Pastor (and the wonderful Word). You all should come.

We took a trip to Walmart* yesterday. I don’t even want to talk about it. Suffice it to say that SOMEONE in our family peed on the floor of the mart. It was not me. (There. Make your judgements. Make your assumptions. Go.)

Last night AJ and I tried to do one of our very favorite things with little success. (insert pregnant pause) Okay, are you back?      We tried to watch Chuck on Hulu but our internet was being crotchety so it was all fits and starts. I can only assume that it was a riveting episode full of tension filled moments of not knowing whether or not Sarah was going to live. It’s hard to say, really. I liked the new Alexi Volcov who is no longer Volcov but now Hartley. Don’t you guys? Adorable, right? Guys? Ach. This conversation is going nowhere. You obviously don’t watch Chuck. (May I suggest that you do? It’s unoriginal dialogue and questionable acting is somehow shrouded by inconceivable amounts of charisma and charm.)

Have I said enough? Is this pointless diatribe at an end? Should the ramble continue? Do you want to see a cute picture of some of my kids?

They're sleepy.

Thanks for the chat.

7 Responses to “This is me being silent.”

  1. Jamie May 23, 2011 at 11:28 am #

    Stacy, did you really just make that insinuation and then say “pregnant pause”?

    • Christina May 23, 2011 at 4:40 pm #

      I wish our blog let us like comments, because I totally would love this one.

    • Stacy May 24, 2011 at 11:34 am #

      Jamie, you really GET me.

  2. Christina May 23, 2011 at 4:42 pm #

    Am I asteriskly challenged, or is something missing?

    • Mom May 23, 2011 at 10:47 pm #

      Isn’t that just Walmart*’s new logo?

      • Stacy May 24, 2011 at 11:35 am #

        Mom’s right. Yikes, Christina, I’m disappointed in your lack of transfer. Remember we used to type it “Wal*mart”?

  3. Mom May 23, 2011 at 10:46 pm #

    I too wish to have explanations but I’m really replying because tonight I clicked on Carissa’s Link and found a Reimer family picture and one of Henry and one of Charlie. Henry’s doing “the nose” and Charlie looks much older than he did 4 weeks ago. That’s what I have to say about that.

Leave a Reply

