Still Life Sports Photography

26 Apr

I’m afraid our sons have inherited my athletic deficiencies.  Jerry might try to tell you its his fault, but I’ve seen him bowl.

I’ve always been scared to death of balls.  Specifically, those that come flying towards me.  I don’t think I’ve caught a single thing, outside of a cold, in my entire life.  Sure, there was some volleyball in Jr. High and High School.  They put me in to serve, and if they could have made a substitution mid-play they would have.  Balls should be traveling away from my face.  Always.

Maybe Jerry’s on to something with this whole bowling bit.

On Easter our boys were playing outside with their first cousin once removed.  They were no match for his speed, ball handling, and maneuvering.  So, Thomas asked for another ball so he and Abe could play their own game.  A much more mild mannered game.  Scroll down very, very slowly through these pictures you can see them in action.

 At this rate I could probably join them.  That is, if I got a face mask and some knee pads.

7 Responses to “Still Life Sports Photography”

  1. Mom April 26, 2011 at 12:04 pm #

    This is too funny. I suspect in photo #5 Thomas is preparing for a speedy oncoming return toward his face.

    • Christina April 26, 2011 at 1:55 pm #

      Either that, or he’s wiping away the sweat.

  2. Stacy April 26, 2011 at 2:14 pm #

    In pictures 4 to 5 is Abe performing a “fake” of some kind?

    • Christina April 26, 2011 at 2:16 pm #

      Possibly, but I don’t know what a “fake” is.

      • Stacy April 27, 2011 at 6:11 pm #

        I think it’s something athletes do in some athletic competition of some kind.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Bits and Pieces of My Scattered Brain « …and we laughed and laughed. - May 25, 2011

    […] tried to teach our middlest sons to skip yesterday.  Man, if you thought their ball handling skills were something you should just see the “step-hop” process.  We gave up and tried to […]

  2. I Don’t Know What You’re Talking About « …and we laughed and laughed. - September 28, 2011

    […] I thought she said she was scared of balls flying towards her face?”  You’re right, I am.  But in volleyball I saw an opportunity to send balls flying across the net via a killer serve […]

Leave a Reply

