This is no laughing matter.

19 Apr

I would like to share with you all a shocking story. Yesterday I was on the phone with my sister (you know her – she’s the one that regularly posts clever things to this blog). We talk on the phone often. In fact, I think she’s one of the only people I am really able to converse with on the phone. (Dear Others, take no offense – it is nothing personal. I am just not a “phone” person.) I asked her whether she had seen last week’s “Chuck” because I had something relevant on which to reference. She hadn’t. AND THEN SHE SAID THE MOST SHOCKING THING OF ALL TIME: “So I guess we don’t have anything to talk about.” WHA-!?!?!?!? WAIT! Gasp. Now, before you all become too worried please know that we then continued in a deep discussion of “America’s Next Great Restaraunt”, so really, nothing was lost, but a revelation was made by me. Christina knows nothing of this revelation because I think she is screening her calls (!!!). I reveal it to you all now:

I have been struggling with all things communication related since my dear son was born. Before that I was able to speak for hours in snarky tones and endless pregnancy complaints. Now it seems all playful snarkiness has left the building and apathetic exhaustion has been left in its stead. This is sad. Really sad. And here’s the real problem. I don’t know if you all knew this, but my beloved sister is just as sleep deprived as I. You can only imagine how stimulating our repartee is at this given juncture in our lives. It’s not. We often circle our conversations around how very little sleep we got, how very much sleep we want, and the impossibility of changing our given sleep amounts any time in the near future (Oh, and we talk a lot about reality television).

My point? I’m not sure I have one. I rarely do these days. Will you all patiently wait with me as my brain eventually re-activates? I’m sure it will. Someday….

Until then, expect that most of my blogs will consist of mindless prattle or complaints of sleepiness. When I’m human again I will speak of literature and parenting and politics (well, that’s a questionable one). Really. I will.

See? She was even talking to me shortly after giving birth to twins and WHILE having her picture taken. So much has changed...

5 Responses to “This is no laughing matter.”

  1. Christina April 19, 2011 at 11:20 am #

    All I can thank you for is not chosing the “large” setting on the image.

    • Mom April 19, 2011 at 6:35 pm #

      choosing?

  2. Mom April 19, 2011 at 6:37 pm #

    Maybe if you need more naps you should become air traffic controllers.

    • Stacy April 19, 2011 at 7:30 pm #

      What? That seems really unsafe. Am I missing some sort of current event that includes a sleeping air traffic controller?

  3. Mom April 19, 2011 at 8:55 pm #

    Yup. Huge news. I think seven incidents in the last three months. Major changes being made. The latest wasn’t napping – he was engrossed in watching a video and wasn’t doing his job. I hesitated to make the comment as it’s probably in poor taste. Fortunately there have been no resulting mishaps or accidents.

Leave a Reply

